top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGeekly Gary

Sans Sophistication



Every now and then, I am presented with an opportunity to take a trip back to my childhood. To try and relive the glory days of our youth, where junk food was always delicious. I can’t help but muse over those midsummer Saturday bike rides down to the A&W, where my brothers and I would split a gallon of root beer. Mom always thought we were at the park, and in our defense, we did sometimes lug the jug to the playground, but that was more to flaunt the suds. And although a frosty cold A&W still holds up in adulthood, some other junk foods do not.


Take for instance the many popular cereals created for kids. Recently, while looking after my brother’s kids, I scoured their cabinets for a bite to eat after we put them down for the night. Now, they had plenty of food to choose from, but once my eye saw those Lucky Charms, I just had to try them to see if they too held up. They did not. As I write this, I’m reminded of similar circumstances where I was searching someone else’s pantry and attempted the same experiment with some Spaghetti O’s, being left, once again, in utter despair at not being able to live through yet another fond childhood memory.


So, the other day, when I made some mac and cheese for my kids, and they hardly touched it, I thought back to the days of my youth where the dish would be enhanced with a lovely cutup hotdog. And... I just so happened to have some hotdogs from a weekend get-together with some friends. Do I dare? Would I be disappointed once again? Would I end up throwing it all out after realizing some things should just be left to the past? Well, if that were the way it played out, I would not have felt the urge to share this delectable recipe with you all:


Ingredients:

  • One box of Kraft Macaroni and Cheese

  • 1-2 cutup hotdogs

Directions:

  1. Make the Kraft Macaroni and Cheese according to the package instructions

  2. Stir in the cutup hotdogs until warmed

  3. Enjoy!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page